Aussie Curves – Work

DSC_0480

aussiecurvesbanner_top

DSC_0433

I am so lucky that for the past 2 1/2 years I have been working in retail. Now I know that that is not something you would hear many people say, but I’ve been very blessed to be working for a great company, with some great teams and I truly love my job.

     DSC_0443 DSC_0445

Tree of Life is a retail store with over 60 outlets across Australia, selling clothing, homewares and jewellery. We have strong ties with India, with 80% of our products produced in India by family companies, some of which the owners first made connections with over 20 years ago. We’re fair trade, we don’t endorse sweat shops or unfair work practices and our stuff is awesome. Plain and simple.
For over 2 years I’ve worked for Tree, and I do really love it. They supported me all through my fashion course, were able to work around my hectic timetable and I was even able to continue working for them when I made the big move from Brisbane to Melbourne, and I’m still working for them now.

DSC_0451

DSC_0455

Tree of Life has been around for over 20 years now, and I think a lot of people still really identify it has “that hippie store” or a place that only sells tie dye. And believe me, we still have some good tie dye once in a while but the designers and the buyers have definitely made a really strong step forward in pushing TOL towards trends, towards fashionable styles and colours and fabrics. No longer do we still only sell maxi skirts and patchouli incense, we’ve definitely moved up into competitive retail fashion .

So for me, this is a pretty typical work outfit. I have been so obsessed with Khaki lately, really, anything military inspired at all, so when we got this little number in a work I couldn’t wait to try it on.
One thing about working in Fashion retail is that I definitely do spend a lot of my wage before I earn it. Its so difficult not too, I open the deliveries, I get to see whats going to be on the floor next and I can’t help it if a lot of that stock gets put out the back for me to buy on payday. What can I say, we do get a pretty sweet discount.

What I Wore:

Khaki Dress: Tree of Life
Gold Arrow Necklace: Tree of Life
Various Bracelets: Tree of Life, Thrifted & Gifts
Headscarf – Tree of Life
Belt: Valleygirl – $9.95
Shoes: Target – $20

DSC_0460

DSC_0474

Oh & our housemates cat just couldn’t resist investigating what we were upto!

DSC_0469

disclaimer_aussiecurves1

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

6 thoughts on “Aussie Curves – Work

  1. Ohh! I love Tree of Life, I used to shop there pretty much exclusively in my teen years. I was such a hippy. I like working in retail, I enjoyed it when I did it. Love this outfit

Leave a Reply

