hesitant.

IMG_1486

IMG_1482

I’m not going to lie, I nearly didn’t publish this photoshoot.
It was one was of those outfits that in my head actually looked pretty good, but when I got the shots back, was very unhappy with.

I knew when I bought this dress of ASOS that it was going to be a risk for me, the pencil skirt, the open back and the high neck were all things that I was a bit uncertain about, and to be perfectly honest, I’m still not sure about them, but I’m posting this to prove to myself that its fine. Yeah, you can see my stomach, you can see my soft, chubby back, and it doesn’t matter.

IMG_1585

IMG_1591

I’ve been having a bit of a insecure body time of late, I’ve put on weight and I’m not particularly happy about it. As a plus size blogger I feel a lot of pressure to be 100% happy with my body all of the time, regardless of what I wear or what size I am, but underneath it all, i’m still on the journey of loving my body, I’m not totally there yet, I still have days where I catch a glance in a mirror and I’m unhappy with what I see, and I think thats okay sometimes.

I’m still going to have days where I’m not overjoyed with whats staring back at me, but for the most part I’m happy and healthy in my body, my size 16-18 body that has carried me through hards days and good days, I have scars and stretch marks and bumps and bruises but none of that matters, because it marks my journey, people who I have loved and lost and experiences that I wouldn’t trade for anything.

IMG_1564

What I Wore:

Top: ASOS – $45
Shoes: Target – $30
Headband: Collette – $8.95
Necklace: Diva – $3 on sale
Cuff: Alexander McQueen from Net-A-Porter – $250
Script Ring: Tree of Life – $55
Skull Ring: Karen Walker – $45

IMG_1577

Photos by Watson.

8 thoughts on “hesitant.

  1. I love this dress on you. You look amazing.. It’s one of those dresses That makes You want to better yourself!! ❤ You are the new Face of Fashion.. Of the Curvy girls!! 🙂 ❤

  2. I totally understand how you feel, I sometimes hesitantly click the publish button and then cringe every time I go back for a look, but it is good to push yourself out of your comfort zone both when putting together an outfit and also when blogging. I admire you a lot, and have been reading your blog for a while. You always look great and you have such a positive voice. Sometimes it doesn’t hurt to write about stuff that’s difficult to admit to thinking, it just means that you’re a well-rounded (pun intended?) person just like everybody else!

  3. you look gorgeous, taylor! i am so jealous of that mcq cuff. i understand that pressure to be positive all the time, and i think bloggers that are like that are giving people an unrealistic performance of body positivity. i absolutely flat out refuse to believe that anyone exists that doesn’t occasionally experience a flicker of self-doubt in that regard. i think it’s reckless and dangerous to let your readers think they are ‘bad’ or not doing the whole body-posi thing ‘correctly.’ i think people NEED to read posts like this. it shows you are human and relatable, and GENUINE. much love, pretty lady.

  4. No way! This is absolutely stunning. Your style is amazing and this look is a great mix of soft/subtle with a bit of a hard edge. I love it and am a huge fan. Please keep pushing the line and posting– it’s totally inspiring!

  5. I think no one is 100% happy with their bodies all the time… and that’s OK. For me, the problem would be if one were 100% unhappy with their bodies all the time.
    🙂

  6. Love how you’re keeping it real in the this post. I SO relate to what you wrote here. Thanks for publishing your post despite your insecurites because I loved it and felt inspired by it!
    I’ve been following you on Instagram for a while, and I absolutely can’t remember how I found you. It’s nice to finally read your blog. I love it x

Leave a Reply

